Who Is This Woman?

This is an intro­duc­tion to me that goes beyond the stuff on my LJ user info page. I’ll try to remem­ber to update it as things change. Remind me if I don’t, okay?

I’m orig­i­nal­ly from Gads­den, Alaba­ma. My par­ents moved the fam­i­ly to Mari­et­ta, GA in 1971, back to Gads­den in 1974, and to Tuck­er, GA (anoth­er Atlanta sub­urb) in 1977. We’ve been in Geor­gia ever since. I spent a cou­ple of years in south Geor­gia, but have oth­er­wise lived around Atlanta for 27 years. 

We seem to be relat­ed to the entire native pop­u­la­tion of Alaba­ma and most of north Geor­gia, with most­ly Scots-Irish-Chero­kee heritage.

My par­ents are usu­al­ly referred to here as Nana and Papa, which is what my daugh­ter calls them.

I’m the old­est sur­viv­ing child of four: Will, me, Wendy, and Matt. Will died (at 2) just before I was born, due to malig­nant hyper­ther­mia that hit dur­ing a rou­tine her­nia repair surgery. Wendy is in edu­ca­tion. Matt is a doc­tor. Both are mar­ried, and I have one nephew, also named Will.

I was raised as a strict South­ern Bap­tist. I got over it.

I’m a sur­vivor of child­hood sex­u­al abuse (not from a par­ent, thankfully).

I was a very suc­cess­ful stu­dent in primary/secondary school. I won’t say “good,” because I real­ly had bad habits. I just hap­pened to have a learn­ing style that fits very well with Amer­i­can pub­lic school­ing meth­ods of the time, and I test well.

I had a Nation­al Mer­it Schol­ar­ship at Agnes Scott Col­lege. I attend­ed there for one quar­ter, then dropped out to get mar­ried. I also attend­ed Mer­cer Uni­ver­si­ty in Atlanta and Dekalb Col­lege (now Geor­gia Perime­ter Col­lege) for a bit. I’m attend­ing South­ern Poly­tech­nic State Uni­ver­si­ty now, work­ing towards a BA in Inter­na­tion­al, Tech­ni­cal, and Pro­fes­sion­al Communications.

Scott was my high school sweet­heart, Scott. I was 18, he was 20. He was a religion/biology major at Mer­cer. He was going to go into youth min­istry, then marine biol­o­gy, then he switched to vet­eri­nary med­i­cine. He was a youth min­is­ter for a time while we were together. 

We were mar­ried in 1985, then had a low-dra­ma divorce in 1987. No kids, no prop­er­ty, etc.

I began dat­ing Ed in 1988. He’s a mechan­i­cal engineer.

Wayne (Katie’s father) and I met and began dat­ing in 1988, and were mar­ried in 1989. Wayne had degrees in mechan­i­cal and elec­tri­cal engi­neer­ing. He did destruc­tive test­ing, then was a qual­i­ty engi­neer for a defense sub­con­trac­tor. He died of leukemia in 1999. The chem­i­cals he used in the destruc­tive test­ing almost cer­tain­ly con­tributed to his illness.

Katie was born in 1990. She’s my mir­a­cle God­dess-gift. We start­ed home­school­ing in 2000, and absolute­ly love it.

After Wayne and I were divorced, Ed and I got back together.

I was briefly mar­ried to Paul in the mid-90s. 

Paul and I had a rela­tion­ship that was open from day one, and Ed and I con­tin­ued to date ’til a few months after sam­bear and I got involved. We’re still friendly.

Yep, that’s three divorces in by the time I was 30.

Sam and I met in 1998, and have been togeth­er ever since then. We’re polyamorous but were not active­ly so for about four years. We were a bit busy blend­ing our fam­i­lies at the time.

Sam’s kids, Genevieve and Rowan, lived with us until 2003. They’re 13 and 16 now and live in north­ern Cal­i­for­nia with their moth­er and her partner.

We were involved with anoth­er cou­ple from 2002 to ear­ly 2003. I still miss her, and what we had togeth­er as a family.

After a cou­ple of years of get­ting to know each oth­er, Sam and I com­bined house­holds with curiousmay9 in ear­ly 2004. We live in Cas­tle Car­i­tas.

I’ve been dis­abled by fibromyal­gia, chron­ic myofas­cial pain, and arthri­tis since 2000. I did­n’t accept it enough to start fil­ing a dis­abil­i­ty claim until 2004. I still hate the “d” word. I’d been work­ing out­side the home since I was 11.

My pro­fes­sion­al back­ground in soft­ware QA, tech­ni­cal writ­ing, and the like. Before I got into tech stuff in the mid-90s, I worked in office man­age­ment, med­ical tran­scrip­tion, account­ing, bank­ing, retail, and office clerk­ing in an HVAC office. I was even a gas com­pa­ny dis­patch­er for a brief time. I spent five years work­ing for a fun­da­men­tal­ist Chris­t­ian for­eign mis­sions board, man­ag­ing their self-insured ben­e­fits pro­gram. I start­ed telecom­mut­ing in 1990, while preg­nant with Katie. It’s still my favorite way to work.

After a mul­ti­ply-con­vict­ed felon began stalk­ing me and Katie in 1996, I got into online safe­ty advo­ca­cy. I’ve done vol­un­teer work with Work­ing to Halt Online Abuse since 1997. I’m their exec­u­tive vice pres­i­dent and web­mas­ter now.

I’ve done inter­views about online safe­ty with var­i­ous print and tele­vi­sion media enti­ties since 1996, includ­ing CNN, the BBC, 20/20, the Asso­ci­at­ed Press, US News & World Report, Oprah, ZDTV, Glam­our, and Sveriges.

Our house­hold includes 160 pounds/20 paws of critters.

Shel­ley, the tor­toise­shell cat, is 15. She was mine ’til Katie was born and has been Katie’s cat since then. She con­sid­ers Katie her kitten.

KG is a deaf 12-year-old cat and is all white. She acts some­what autis­tic. I can’t remem­ber how long she’s been with curiousmay9 but it’s been for most of KG’s life.

Sparks is an 8‑year-old orange tab­by. She’s the friend­liest of the four cats, being a total cud­dle-slut as well as a cat of very lit­tle brain.

Wiz­ard, the grey tab­by, is about 2.5 years old. He’s some­what obnox­ious. If I did­n’t know bet­ter, I’d swear he was a tom rather than neutered. He has his sweet moments, though, and is the only cat I have ever seen play fetch.

Kar­li is about 2. She’s a Great Pyre­nees/Akbash cross who joined our fam­i­ly in late sum­mer of 2004. A friend referred to her as “an indoor pony,” but she’s not large for her ances­try. She’s also very sweet, allow­ing lit­tluns to crawl all over her with­out com­plaint. The cats are her “herd” to pro­tect, and she wants every­body who vis­its the house to stay for­ev­er. Bark­ing at boo­jums is her favorite pastime.

So, those are the main not-on-LJ names you’re like­ly to run across here. And way more than you prob­a­bly want­ed to know about me!

Cyn is Rick's wife, Katie's Mom, and Esther & Oliver's Mémé. She's also a professional geek, avid reader, fledgling coder, enthusiastic gamer (TTRPGs), occasional singer, and devoted stitcher.
Posts created 4259

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top